Album Review – Buckcherry – F*CK – F Bomb Records

Album Review – Buckcherry – F*CK – F Bomb Records
August 11, 2014 | By More

Buckcherry has returned with their follow-up to last year’s “Confessions”, a concept album based on the seven deadly sins. On August 19, Buckcherry will release their first ever EP and according to the press release, it is also based on a concept. While I’m not the brightest bulb on the tree, after multiple listens, I’ve yet to figure out the concept of this fucking EP!

Not to take anything away from the band but Buckcherry is one of those bands who would have had more success than what they have had they hit during the late-80’s. They would have fit right into the whole sub-genre of sleazy rock bands with a grittier edge such as Guns N’ Roses (pre-Illusions era), Faster Pussycat, Mötley Crüe and Skid Row. Thankfully, Buckcherry hit in 1999 when the music world needed a dose of down n’ dirty rock n’ roll due to the shoe gazers, rap-rock, boy bands and bubblegum pop crap that was everywhere at the time.

They’ve had their share of success with their self-titled debut album, endured a three year hiatus where they pursued solo endeavors and re-formed in late-2005 with their most successful album to date, the Platinum-certified “15”. Since 2005’s “15”, they’ve maintained a rabid fanbase through relentlessly touring and consistently putting out new music. In the nine years since re-forming, they have released four full-length albums, one live album, a ‘Best Of’ and now in late 2014, Buckcherry is releasing their first-ever EP. EP’s seem to be the hot new trend for bands & I personally do not mind if the artist chooses to focus on EP’s as long as they release one every 9 months to a year, make it available in a physical form not just by download and tour to support it. As some bands/artists have pointed out, the world has the attention span of a goldfish, LP’s seemed to be ignored because people are too busy to sit and listen to 10+ songs at a time & everyone is overloaded with entertainment stimuli. The band has been rather productive in this day and age of disposable single-driven artists and nostalgia acts.

First up is the song “Somebody Fucked With Me”. This song takes me back to the 1999-2002 era of the band when Buckcherry weren’t concerned with what some bottom-line driven/incompetent manager or radio wanted & just fuckin’ rocked! Even their 2008 single “Too Drunk To Fuck” seemed like a contrived attempt, and not a well written attempt, to capitalize on the success of the expletive-laden “Crazy Bitch” from 15. This song just drips with Josh Todd’s punk-rock aggression mixed with Keith Nelson’s “Stonesy” vibe and has the spirit where it could have easily been on one of their first two albums. After the first listen of “Somebody Fucked With Me”, it dawned on me they should have added a “CAUTION:EXPLICIT LYRICS AHEAD” warning message at the front of the tune as on the second spin, I counted FIFTY FOUR (54) uses or variations of the word fuck.

Just this week, the band released the first single from the EP, a cover of Icona Pop’s “I Love It” which has been re-titled “Say Fuck It”! A rather ballsy move to release a single with the word fuck in it in this day and age. Maybe they figure by having a single with the word fuck in it that they’ll catch some heat from mainstream media therefore boosting sales because as we know, there is no such thing as bad publicity! I wasn’t familiar with Icona Pop’s original so I went and listened to it so I could make a fair comparison. Icona Pop isn’t my cup of tea. I am not against synth-pop/dance music as I am one of the few who will admit to owning a copy of and being a big fan of “Aquarium” by Aqua! The band really puts their stank all over this cover and makes it their own while not losing the some of the pop sensibility of the original.

The halfway point of the EP finds the song “The Motherfucker”. This tune is soaked in piss n’ vinegar and is obviously a big FUCK YOU to someone whether it’s an ex, former business partner, some ex-manager, a neighbor or a boss, the song actually has a positive message about not giving up. Cleverly done guys, cleverly done. “I Don’t Give A Fuck” is equal parts funky alas Sly & The Family Stone and equal parts 1970’s Aerosmith. You will find yourself groovin’ to this lil ditty! Do I hear some güiro and shakers going on in “I Don’t Give A Fuck”? Who the fuck knows?!!? Maybe I can ask the band if I am ever lucky enough to interview them?

The second-to-last track is “It’s A Fucking Disaster”. I was expecting a fuckin’ balls-to-the-wall barnstormer with this song but they throw us listeners a HUGE curve ball during fifty seconds. Nice! Ah, they got me again because the tune kicks in for a little over a minute before transitioning into some beautiful slide work and back into the softer side for a minute before reaching barnstormer levels for a good forty seconds. The solo picks up where the slide work left off around the 3:37 mark and drops you off into Josh’s mellow side. The tempo and mood changes of this song are a mind-fuck that leads you on an emotional rollercoaster. One of the best songs the band has ever recorded and anything but a fucking disaster!

The final tune seems to be driven by some cocaine lovin’ crazy bitch who is fucking hell bent to make the rollercoaster go off the rails on the final tune, “Fist Fuck”. Two and a half minutes of Josh Todd’s snotty vocal snarl and punky lyrics are complimented by Keith, Stevie, Kelly & Xavier’s breakneck speed instrumentation. It will have you bangin’ your head in no time! The band focused on laying down the best material by really trimming the over indulgent fat of the last couple of albums, brought back the spirit and edginess of their first two albums which should be welcome to pre-2005 fans and should have their fan base excited for the future with this release.

After multiple listens, I guess I will get this posted & hope the band allows me to review future releases and/or interview them in the future. I am usually pretty quick in catching on to things and concepts. What the fuck could I be missing concept-wise? I have yet to fucking figure out the fuckin’ concept of this motherfucking EP! It has to be obvious. Oh yeah, duh, FUCK!!!

Buckcherry – FUCK
Release Date: August 19, 2014
F-Bomb Records

Josh Todd – lead vocals, occasional guitar, piano
Keith Nelson – lead and rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Stevie D. – rhythm and lead guitar, backing vocals
Xavier Muriel – drums, percussion
Kelly LeMieux – bass guitar, backing vocals

Track List:
01. Somebody Fucked With Me
02. Say Fuck It
03. The Motherfucker
04. I Don’t Give A Fuck
05. It’s A Fucking Disaster
06. Fist Fuck

Visit Buckcherry on the web: -Official Website -Official Facebook -Official Twitter



Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Reviews

Comments are closed.