Album Review – The Dead Daisies – Revolución

Album Review – The Dead Daisies – Revolución
July 26, 2015 | By More

The Dead Daisies return with their second album “Revolución” as well as a new lead singer, John Corabi. Hailed as “a musical collective created by a rotating line-up that features some of the best Rock musicians on the planet. This includes current and former members of Guns N’ Roses, The Rolling Stones, The Cult, INXS, Ozzy Osbourne, Mink, Rob Zombie, Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake, Motley Crue, RATT, NIN and The Psychedelic Furs among others” while others might label the band as a “Supergroup.”

The band recently returned from overseas at the end of June after supporting KISS and playing major festivals. They head out for some headlining gigs and shows in support of Whitesnake in the US from July 27th until August 16th! The band will support KISS again on their Australian tour in October before supporting Whitesnake all over Europe in November and December.

The Dead Daisies are John Corabi on Vocals, Marco Mendoza on Bass, Guitarists Richard Fortus and David Lowy, Dizzy Reed on Keyboards and Brian Tichy on Drums.

“Revolución” gets off to a rockin’ start with “Mexico.” The guitars have an AC/DC tonality in the intro. Lyrically, a song about letting loose and starting anew, it has a Classic Rock vibe to it. Dizzy plays some beautiful keys in the breakdown after a blistering guitar solo. It is the second single and video from the album. Hopefully U.S. Radio will pick up “Mexico” as it provides an excellent addition to anyone’s Summer soundtrack.

“Evil” is an old Willie Dixon penned tune made famous courtesy of the late Howlin’ Wolf. I am a HUGE fan of Delta, Country & early Chicago Blues so I was eagerly awaiting this tune hitting my ears, it doesn’t disappoint! John really sings the hell outta this tune, no doubt Howlin’ Wolf would be proud of John’s delivery. The groove of this tune is as thick as the air during a Summer in the Delta. It is one of two tracks featuring Brian Tichy on drums, Jackie Barnes handles the rest of the drum duties on the album. “Looking For The One” is a mid-tempo rocker that showcases Marco Mendoza’s hypnotic groove on the Bass, excellent harmony vocals, a unique vocal approach by John during the verses with a little Latin flavor percussion.

“Empty Heart” is a duet between Corabi and legendary Australian rocker Jimmy Barnes who also co-wrote the song with Tommy Boyce. Their different vocal styles complement each other well. The hook is undeniable and the song will have your foot tappin’ along! Dizzy starts off “Make The Best Of It” and really shines throughout with his keyboard accents. The song coveys the universal message of making the best of everything life throws at you. One of my favorite guitar solos of the album is found within this tune.

“Something I Said” speaks of the trials and tribulations of relationships. Another track that shines a spotlight on the talents of Dizzy. The keys blend together with the acoustic guitars perfectly to create one of the catchiest tunes of the album. The band kicks the tune into overdrive around the 2:07 mark before bringing it back around to Dizzy’s outro. The band really gets funky on “Get Up Get Ready.” It reminds me a lot of Stevie Salas records. A definite party vibe is accomplished. Holy Talk Box intro, Batman….“With You And I” is a song about making a difference & making this world a better place laid over a heavy groove. The Talk Box return to add some flavor to the solo.

There is no question that “Sleep” was brought to the band by John Corabi. His style is undeniable as is the influence of The Beatles on him. A ballad of epic proportions. “Sleep” and “Mexico” are my two favorites of the album. Marco Mendoza gets “My Time” going with some distorted pulsating Bass line & does not let up. It really has a classic Deep Purple vibe to it & the solo will rip your head clean off. If I had to pick a third favorite song, this would be it! The second cover tune of the album and lead single/video is The Sensational Alex Harvey Band’s “Midnight Moses.” The band debuted this song in their live set on their groundbreaking tour of Cuba. They dugg it so much they hit the studio to record it in Cuba along with “Evil.”

Kicking off with a searing riff and some sweet Honky Tonk keys, “Devil Out Of Time” is a punky middle finger lyrically and sonically with an all-to-fitting ending. This should be insane live. “Critical” is a lyrical plea to ending war and letting the love shine and sonically diverse. Trippy in parts and rockin’ in others.

“Leave The Truth Behind” is a rocker with some really cool Jerry Lee Lewis-esque boogie piano and blazing guitar work leading the charge. John sings his ass off on this track. The highlight of the tune for me is the heavy riffing at the 2:23 mark that leads into Richard Fortus’ blistering solo. A short yet sweet solo where he made his point and got out. If I were in charge of the sequencing of the album, I would have ended the album with this tune.

The final track, “Last Night”, has a Bachman-Turner Overdrive feel to the piano laid atop a Southern Rock vibe. Lyrically, it’s an ode to tying it on too hard the night before, waking up not remembering a damn thing about what you did and wondering how you ended up in a ladies bed that doesn’t resemble your girlfriend. A tune that a lot of people may relate to.

Most times, bands deemed as “Supergroups” fall short of their potential, The Dead Daisies are the exception to that. Maybe it is the revolving door of this “musical collective” that allows them to sound hungry as well as breathing fresh air into the lungs of Rock N’ Roll. This album is proof that Rock N’ Roll IS NOT dead despite what Gene $immon$ says. Ironic that they took The Dead Daisies out this Summer and will have them out again in the Fall. Maybe Gene realizes he was wrong? Too bad he won’t admit it! I hope this won’t be the only album we hear from this collective of superb musicians! If it is, they made one helluva statement with Revolución!

The Dead Daisies (Top to Bottom):
David Lowy, Brian Tichy, Dizzy Reed, John Corabi, Richard Fortus and Marco Mendoza!

Release Date (Overseas) June 1st, 2015
Spitfire Music

Release Date (US & Australia) July 31st, 2015

The Dead Daisies:
Vocals & Acoustic Guitar: John Corabi
Guitar: Richard Fortus
Guitar: David Lowy
Bass & Backing Vocals: Marco Mendoza
Drums on “Evil” & “Midnight Moses”: Brian Tichy
Drums, Percussion & Backing Vocals on all other tracks: Jackie Barnes
Keyboards & Backing Vocals: Dizzy Reed

Track List:
01. Mexico
02. Evil
03. Looking For The One
04. Empty Heart
05. Make The Best Of It
06. Something I Said
07. Get Up Get Ready
08. With You And I
09. Sleep
10. My Time
11. Midnight Moses
12. Devil Out Of Time
13. Critical
14. Leave The Truth Behind*
15. Last Night*

* US & Australian Bonus Tracks

Produced & Engineered by:
Craig Porteils

Except “Evil” & “Midnight Moses”:
The Dead Daisies & Ben Grosse

Mixed by:
Ben Grosse

Except “My Time” & “Devil Out Of Time”:
Ben Grosse & Paul Pavao

Purchase The Dead Daisies CD from Amazon:

Click here for The Dead Daisies CD

Purchase The Dead Daisies UK iTunes:

Click here for The Dead Daisies on UK iTunes

Purchase The Dead Daisies USA iTunes:

Click here for The Dead Daisies on USA iTunes

The Dead Daisies – “Mexico” – Official Video

The Dead Daisies – “Midnight Moses” – Official Video

Get the latest on The Dead Daisies including Tour Dates, News, Merch and More: -Official The Dead Daisies Website – Official The Dead Daisies Facebook – Official The Dead Daisies Twitter – Official The Dead Daisies Instagram

\m/ Coming Soon! \m/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Reviews

Comments are closed.